Job hunting angst

So I’m getting really jaded after rejoining the emotional merry-go-round that is the perpetual search for employment.

Being unemployed blows, it’s terrible and usually accompanied by short bursts of depression and fits of rolling around in Nutella. The feeling when you quit a horrible job controlled by a psychopathic boss with more addictions than I have fingers is quite simply the best feeling ever. I got my holiday pay out and went on quite the impressive beer guzzling spree. I bought new clothes to congratulate myself for being a strong independent woman who won’t take no shit.

Then came the credit card statement and the phone bill, of course shortly followed by car registration and insurance. And suddenly it occurred to me I just made a huge mistake.

Let me get this straight, I’m not a benefit seeking slum lord, I’ve had less than a week of holidays since working for 5 years. I’m a full time uni student and a full time cat admirer. So obviously I began job hunting. I’d say I’ve applied for approximately 50 jobs in the last month and have been ecstatic with the speed of the rejection emails I’ve received.

I even got an interview for a job that sounded perfect for me, got through to the second round then bam … *radio silence* during which time I partially destroyed all the relationships in my life by morphing from the happiest little girl in the world into the grinch who stole Christmas. Or rather – had Christmas stolen from her, or even the fucking job stolen from her. I mean I guess it wasn’t mine for them to steal, but I had emotionally claimed it and had started planning our lives together so I was going through the 5 stages of grief while everyone else was going through the 50 shades of Grey.

But aside from my personal hangups the thing that gets me the most is that after I spent my time and my very expensive petrol to play their little interview game not once but twice! They didn’t even show me the common courtesy of a pretty little generic rejection letter. This made me mad, I mean come on dude the places that didn’t even let me interview sent me a rejection letter.

But no you wanted to TORTURE me. Everyone who has been on the job search has experienced this crazy roller coaster ride and can relate I’m sure. Oh please excuse yourselves if you’re one of those people who fell from a cloud into a field of daisies at birth and has a little extra help pulling the strings so you don’t have to experience this type of hurt.

But really, what I’m getting at is who do employers think they are, toying with people like this. I have a mind to send them my own generic rejection letter, rejecting them from the human race. Fuck you for leaving me hanging bitches.

Going to crawl back into my bed now to eat some valium and cry myself to sleep before waking up in a cold-freaked-out-about-money sweat screaming ‘fuck you world’ at my innocent wall.

Love, Em.

image

4 thoughts on “Job hunting angst

  1. I like your spunk. I’ve quit jobs. To me, it feels overwhelming and scary the very first day, but then afterwards it feels like a whole new adventure, very freeing.

    The thing I really hate though is dealing with “headhunters” and staffing agencies, because they have no comprehension of what I’m saying (about my computer software skills), and I’m not someone who likes to BS. I resent them and basically look for passive-aggressive ways to insult them constantly. They’re just obstacles that waste my time.

    But getting a job at any company seems to be a challenge to me the past few years. I generally don’t fit into hierarchical command structures, but I have no interest in running my own company either. It’s too bad the world is run by people who feel the need to constantly degrade other people in subtle ways.

    Like

  2. I’ve been laid off a couple of times, and being unemployed can be depressing and scary. Good luck with it all. I’m sure you’ll find something eventually. It takes a lot of courage to leave a shitty job, I think a lot of people become complacent. Next time try to have something lined up first 😉 My coworker has been increasingly frustrated with the store we work at so she had an interview on the sly for somewhere else and she was offered the position. Sometimes things work out that way, and I’ll miss her though I understand why she left.

    Like

    1. Yeah I agree that people do become complacent. It’s pretty sad though when that happens because it means that society is still normalising poor treatment of each other, and that we’re forgetting about our rights.

      Like

Leave a comment